Skip to content

The House Feels So Very, Very Quiet Now.

April 13, 2010

The House feels so very quiet now.

I love my two granddaughters

Grandma and her Granddaughters

There is something special about the relationship between a granddaughter and her grandma. Being a grandma is such a joy in my life. If you are a grandparent you might also know the treasures of quality time spent with a grandchild.

Watching my granddaughter Ana change and learn is a continual lesson to me in slowing down and being in the moment, sprinkled with lessons in patience, understanding, compassion, and how to play.  Especially, how to play.

As an artist, it is so important to relax and play. I do not go into the studio to work, but I go  into the studio  to play. And when I can do it with my granddaughters it is even more meaningful.  Seeing the world through a child’s eyes helps us learn how to create again. “Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.”
— Pablo Picasso

Ana is now 5 years old. Our other granddaughter Siobhan is 16 years and lives in Calif. which means I might be able to have quality time with her once or twice a year. I totally feel like I missed out on the gradual growth of Siobhan, which pains my heart so deeply.  So with Ana living close to us, I make sure that I get to have as much time as I can with her.

At least once or twice a week I pick her up at Day Care. It always amazes me how many changes I discover in just a few days passing. Ana had an overnight with us this last weekend so mom and dad could have time alone for a date night and sleep in on Sunday.

I will admit that I did feel a little tired at the end of the weekend for Ana loves to be very active. We started the weekend off with both Fred and me taking her to see “ How to Tame Your Dragon”.   What delight to watch her face during different times of the movie giving us little insights into her brain and comprehension.  The movie was a little overwhelming to all three of us with the sound loud and blaring.  Ana covered her ears many times saying “this is scary”, especially the fighting scenes with the big dragon.  When asked “What was your favorite part?” She said “ Grandma I liked the part where he made friends with the black dragon”.  My favorite time during the movie was when she leaned  over next to Grandpa Fred and said” Grandpa, I love you”.

With a five year old one needs to be prepared for anything. We did have a couple accidents of spilled orange drink coupled with popcorn in the lap.  Just as the end of the movie came there was an emergency rush to the bathroom.  Luckily we sat on end seats just in case.

The rest of the weekend was playing. playing, playing.  Ana usually likes to paint in the studio, but this time we played with making pictures with stickers and then making up stories about our pictures. Since we just purchased play dough at the dollar store this week, we had lots of fresh clay to create landscapes for our brown and black plastic horses to run around in. And of course Grandma also got on the floor and played horse giving rides to a  joyfully, giggling Ana . These rides usually end up with us both laughing and rolling on the floor.

She is becoming quite good with a camera and enjoyed posing Grandma with her stuffed animals and taking pictures of our clay landscapes with our horses. She thought it was funny to take pictures of me brushing my teeth.

Ana had me pose with each of her stuffed animals.

I am seeing this multi talented being developing right before my eyes. She writes stories not knowing what she is writing; she draws, paints,sculpts, is a story teller, creates her own songs,and yes, she has even made up her own language.  Ana also is a photographer and a dancer. I am truly blessed to be able to be part of her life experience and treasure all these experiences in my heart forever.   Can you not tell that I love her deeply can you?

It is my deepest intent to be a role model for both of my granddaughters teaching them that anything is possible and encourage them to live every day creatively.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janelle Holland permalink
    April 13, 2010 03:02

    We love how involved you and dad are with our little girl. We too are blessed to see the changes in Ana that having time with her grandma and grandpa have helped bring out. Thank you for such a special piece. I will have to print this out and save it for Ana.

    • April 13, 2010 04:04

      Thank you honey for replying. I feel so very blessed to have the family I have in my life. lov mom

Leave a Reply

